President Muhammadu Buhari Swears In Rhoda Gumus, Others As INEC Commissioners.

Posted by Onome Naomi 

President Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in six new commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

Those sworn in are; Mohammed Haruna (Niger State); Mrs. Agbamuche Mbu (Delta state); Okeagu Nnamdi (Abia state); Major General Abubakar Alkali (Rtd.) (Adamawa state); Professor Rhoda Gumus (Bayelsa state) and Sam Elumeku (Ogun state).

The brief swearing-in took place at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja,

Those present at the inauguration of the Commissioners were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan; and Speaker, House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha; Chief of Staff to the President, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari; and some ministers.

Speaking to state house correspondents, the INEC chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu said Nigerians should expect the best from the commission.

He noted this; “Well, it’s a good day for the Commission, with the swearing-in of the six National Commissioners, we have the full complements of 12 National Commissioners.

“It’s coming three days to by-elections in four states of the Federation and as we plan for the Ekiti and Osun governorship elections.

“As we continue to prepare for the 2023 general elections, we’ll go on firing on all cylinders now that we have the full complement of commissioners and Nigerians should expect the best out of the Commission.”

Recall that the nomination of Professor Rhoda Gumus as INEC Commissioner for South-South has raised public outcry from Nigerians and Civil society Organizations.

Gumus, a nominee from Bayelsa State, is alleged to be a member of the All Progressives Congress




NaomisoPhyBlog Social Media Handles

Join Naomisophyblog Facebook page Now: 

Join Naomisophyblog Instagram

Follow our Twitter Handle Naomisophysblog

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel

Join Naomisophyblog Linkedìn

Join Naomisphyblog Telegram: Email us @ : Contact: 07033823614 or 07084929893


S'il vous plaît entrez votre commentaire!
S'il vous plaît entrez votre nom ici